## PRESS RELEASE

## 33<sup>rd</sup> Moortidevi Award for the year 2019 goes to 'ASTI AUR BHAVTI' In Hindi written by DR. VISHWANATH PRASAD TIWARI

New Delhi: 06<sup>th</sup> December 2019

The Moortidevi Award Selection Board meeting was held today under the chairmanship of Prof. Satyavrat Shastri. The Board decided to confer the 33<sup>RD</sup> Moortidevi Award for the year 2019 to **`ASTI AUR BHAVTI' written by DR. VISHWANATH PRASAD TIWARI.** 

ASTI AUR BHAVTI is an autobiographical journey of Tiwari which captures the historical, philosophical and cultural aspects at different temporal settings thus igniting life in subjects like changing values and also changes in societal and cultural landscapes. His journey thus reflects the life of the common man of his time. The creation is so lively that it does not remain bounded by a mere autobiography but a testimony of changing Indian philosophy over time

Born in 1940, Dr. Tiwari is one of the eminent critics and authors of modern times. He has published over eight poetry collections, three travelogues, one diary and several critical essays. Recipient of many distinguished awards that include Vyas Samman, Hindi Gaurav Samman, Pushkin Samman and many more.

Moortidevi Award, presented annually, is presented for a contemplative and perceptive work which expresses, underlines and illumines human values written in any Indian languages or English. The award consists of a Saraswati Statue, a Citation Plaque and Cash Award of Rupees Four lacs.

The eminent personalities who are currently the members of the Moortidevi Selection Board are Prof. Satyavrat Shastri (Chairman), Prof. Jay Kumar Upadhye, Dr. Anamika, Shri Sheenkaaf Nizam, Shri Jayant Parmar, Dr. K. Sreenivasrao, Dr. Veer Sagar Jain, Dr. Yashodhara Mishra and Shri Madhusudan Anand.

Sincerely yours,

(Madhusudan Anand) Director